Attendance resources in multiple languages can be found here.
Why is attendance so important?
Every minute of a child’s time at school is important. Children who are absent for even one day, or who arrive later than their classmates, miss valuable instruction time and can easily fall behind in school. When a student is absent from school it also results in a loss of funding for our District. The State of California does not reimburse school districts for days students are absent.
What do I do if my child is absent from school?
Call the Attendance Office at (510) 879-2206 ext. 1 each day the child is absent.
Why do I have to report my child’s absence?
The Education Code of the State of California requires attendance in school under compulsory attendance laws. “Each person between the ages of 6 and 18 is subject to compulsory full-time education.” (EC 48200). If you report your child’s absence within a reasonable amount of time your child will be given the opportunity to complete assignments and tests given during the period of absence.
Which types of absences are excused and which are unexcused?
Under California Education Code section 48205, a pupil shall be excused from school when the absence is due to:
- Student’s Illness.
- Quarantine by a county of city health officer.
- Medical doctor’s appointment.
- Attendance at a funeral of an immediate family member (1 day if in California, up to 3 days if out of state).
- Jury duty (for students 18 and older)
- Illness or medical appointment of a child of whom the student is the custodial parent.
Justifiable personal reasons including (but not limited to):
- Religious holidays or celebrations,
- Appearance in court,
- Attendance at a funeral,
- Attendance at an employment conference (requires previous approval by the school principal), or
- Working at an election precinct.
All students absent from school under any of the above stated reasons are entitled to complete all assignments and tests missed during the period of absence. Completion must be within a reasonable period of time and shall be given full credit.
Unexcused absences are those absences that do not meet the above listed criteria. An unexcused absence may be either an unverified absence (i.e. when a student “cuts” school) or a verified unexcused absence that occurs with the approval of the parent or guardian, without a prearranged agreement with a school administrator. For example, missing school due to a family vacation is considered an unexcused absence.
What happens if my child misses school?
The State of California defines a student as truant after he/she has three unexcused absences and/or has missed more than 30 minutes of school without a valid excuse. Your child’s school is required to send you a truancy letter if your child has three unexcused absences and/or has missed more than 30 minutes of school without a valid excuse within one school year.
What happens if my child misses school due to a family trip?
In accordance California Education Code section 48205, absences due to family trips are unexcused. In extraordinary instances, where an emergency situation exists, short-term independent study may be approved by the school principal on a case-by-case basis. Independent study must be arranged through the school office in advance of the student's absence; please provide at least two weeks' notice where possible.